Home / News / MEXICO to host CONCACAF women’s 2011 WORLD CUP qualifying this fall

MEXICO to host CONCACAF women’s 2011 WORLD CUP qualifying this fall

NEW YORK (Thursday, August 12, 2010) – CONCACAF announced the groups for the CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying 2010-Mexico tournament on Thursday, setting the early pairings for the October 28-November 8 event in Cancun and Playa del Carmen.


Host Mexico, Canada, Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana comprise Group A that will play in Estadio Beto Ávila in Cancún, while Group B with the United States, Costa Rica, Haiti and Guatemala will face off in Estadio Unidad Deportiva in Playa del Carmen.

Estadio Unidad Deportiva is home to soccer team Inter Playa del Carmen in Mexico’s third division, while the Estadio Beto Avila is the regular venue for Mexican baseball team the Quintana Roo Tigres.

“We are thrilled that Mexico will serve as the host for the upcoming CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying tournament,” said CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer.  “There’s no doubt that Cancun and Playa del Carmen will serve as a fantastic setting as our top women’s teams top seek to qualify for the World Cup.”

The competition, formerly known as the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup, offers two full berths to the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Germany for the champion and runner-up while the third place team will face the fifth place European finisher for a World Cup spot.

The CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup, which begin in 2000, was won by the United States in its inaugural edition as well as in 2002 and 2006.  Prior to the establishment of the Women’s Gold Cup, the confederation hosted the CONCACAF Women’s Championship starting in 1991.  The United States won the competition in 1991, 1993 and 1994 before Canada lifted the trophy in 1998 when the United States qualified to the 199 FIFA Women’s World Cup automatically as hosts.

The match dates and times for the 2010 CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying will be announced in the near future.

Trinidad & Tobago

United States
Costa Rica

Your comments:

Powered by Facebook Comments


  1. It is very sure that manchester united will win this premier league2010/2011 season,all man u players are hungry now and they are ready to beat any clubs home and away…

  2. I Love just how you write…thanks for putting up

Scroll To Top