Home / FIFA / 2014 FIFA World Cup / Asia’s first and second round qualifiers for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil
Asia’s first and second round qualifiers for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil

Asia’s first and second round qualifiers for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil

By FIFA.com

2014 FIFA World Cup Logo

2014 FIFA World Cup Logo

The draw for Asia’s first and second round qualifiers for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™ was made at Asian Football Confederation at AFC House in Kuala Lumpur.

In Round 1, the 16 lowest-ranked teams will compete in home-and-away ties on 29 June and 3 July 2011. The winners of these series will then proceed to a second round.

The eight winners will progress to join another 22 sides in Round 2, where 15 two-legged ties will be held on 23 and 28 July.

Newly crowned Asian champions Japan are the top-ranked team, followed in second place by Korea Republic. Both these sides reached the Round of 16 of the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. Australia and DPR Korea – the two other Asian teams that played in the 2010 FIFA World Cup – and 2010 FIFA World Cup Asian play-off participants Bahrain round out the top five.

Australia, Korea Republic, Japan, Korea DPR and Bahrain – the confederation’s top five teams in South Africa 2010 qualifying – will automatically enter in Round 3.

Brunei DS, who are currently suspended by FIFA, are the only team not ranked among AFC’s 46 Member Associations.

The draw for this stage of the Asian preliminaries will be held in Rio de Janeiro on 30 July 2011.

Round 1
Malaysia-Chinese Taipei 2-1 and 2-3
Bangladesh-Pakistan 3-0 and 0-0
Cambodia-Laos 4-2 and 2-6 AET
Sri Lanka-Philippines 1-1 and 0-4
Afghanistan-Palestine 0-2 and 1-1 
Vietnam-Macau 6-0 and 7-1
Nepal-Timor-Leste 2-1 and 5-0
Mongolia-Myanmar 1-0 and 0-2

Round 2
China PR– Laos
Saudi ArabiaHong Kong
United Arab EmiratesIndia

Rankings for the FIFA World Cup 2014 Asian Qualifiers Round 1

1. Japan,
2. Korea Republic,
3. Australia,
4. DPR Korea,
5. Bahrain,
6. Saudi Arabia,
7. Iran,
8. Qatar,
9. Uzbekistan,
10. UAE,
11. Syria,
12. Oman,
13. Jordan,
14. Iraq,
15. Singapore,
16, China PR,
17. Kuwait,
18. Thailand,
19. Turkmenistan,
20. Lebanon,
21. Yemen,
22. Tajikistan,
23. Hong Kong,
24. Indonesia,
25. Kyrgyzstan,
26. Maldives,
27. India,
28. Malaysia,
29-30. Afghanistan, Cambodia,
31. Nepal,
32. Bangladesh,
33-34. Sri Lanka, Vietnam,
35. Mongolia,
36. Pakistan,
37. Palestine,
38. Timor Leste,
39. Macau,
40-41. Chinese Taipei, Myanmar,
42-43. The Philippines, Laos

Suspended: Brunei DS
Not participating: Bhutan, Guam.

Your comments:

Powered by Facebook Comments

One comment

  1. Football Tickets

    Is India qualified in the match. I hope they did.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Scroll To Top
Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE