Home / US Soccer / Sundhage Calls Up 30 Players for Arizona Training Camp Prior to Match against Sweden on Nov. 19

Sundhage Calls Up 30 Players for Arizona Training Camp Prior to Match against Sweden on Nov. 19

All 21 Players from 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup Team Named to Roster


U.S. Women's National Team

IN THE IMAGE: Captain Christie Rampone leads the pack with 243 caps.

CHICAGO (Oct. 27, 2011) – U.S. Women’s National Team head coach Pia Sundhage has called up 30 players for a two-week training camp in Arizona that will end with the USA’s final international match of the year against Sweden on Nov. 19 at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale (7 p.m. MST kickoff).

Sundhage named all 21 players from the team that finished second at the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup and has added an additional nine, which includes players who have performed well in Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS), for the USA’s youth national teams and in the college game.

The USA’s first match in Arizona since 2000 will kick off at 7 p.m. MST. More than 10,000 tickets have already been sold and fans can purchase tickets starting at $22 through ussoccer.com, by phone at 1-800-745-3000 and at all Ticketmaster ticket centers throughout metropolitan Phoenix (including Fry’s Marketplace), as well as the University of Phoenix Stadium ticket office (open Monday-Friday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Saturday 10 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.). Groups of 20 or more can obtain an order form at ussoccer.com or call 312-528-1290.

Several players coming into camp saw extensive time with the U.S. team in the run-up to the Women’s World Cup even though they did not make the final roster. Those include midfielder Yael Averbuch, defender Whitney Engen, defender Meghan Klingenberg and goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris, who was named the WPS Goalkeeper of the Year after helping lead the Western New York Flash to the 2011 championship. Engen was the WPS Defender of the Year for her work in front of Harris with the Flash.

Sundhage named four players from the U.S. Under-23 Women’s National Team training camp that she coached early in October, ncluding Klingenberg, who earned her first two senior team caps this past January. One of those U-23s, UCLA star striker Sydney Leroux, is the all-time leading scorer for the USA in FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cups having played in 2008 and 2010. She earned another call-up after being in the mix during the run-up to the Women’s World Cup. Leroux has one cap, having earned her first at the beginning of this year during the Four Nations Tournament in China.

Other U-23s getting their first call-ups to the Women’s National Team are Flash midfielder Becky Edwards, Boston Breakers midfielder Keelin Winters and Georgetown midfielder Ingrid Wells. All three, along with Leroux, forward Alex Morgan and Klingenberg, were a part of the team that won the 2008 U-20 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Chile.

Flash midfielder Brittany Bock returns to the senior side for the first time since October of 2009, when she was on the bench for the USA during its 1-0 victory against Germany in Augsburg, Germany. Bock will also be looking for her first cap.

Sweden comes into the match having defeated the USA in two consecutive matches, both by 2-1 scores. The first match was in January of this year at the Four Nations Tournament in China and the second came in group play at the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Germany. Sweden went on to finish third in the tournament. Norway is the only country to have ever beaten the USA three times in a row, and it accomplished the feat twice, putting together two four-game winning streaks over 1992-94 and 2000-2002. The USA is currently riding a 54-game unbeaten streak on home soil.

U.S. Women’s National Team Roster by Position – Detailed Roster
GOALKEEPERS (4): Nicole Barnhart (Philadelphia Independence), Ashlyn Harris (Western New York Flash), Jill Loyden (magicJack), Hope Solo (magicJack)
DEFENDERS (9): Rachel Buehler (Boston Breakers), Stephanie Cox (Boston Breakers), Whitney Engen (Western New York Flash), Meghan Klingenberg (Boston Breakers), Ali Krieger (FFC Frankfurt), Amy LePeilbet (Boston Breakers), Heather Mitts (Atlanta Beat), Christie Rampone (magicJack), Becky Sauerbrunn (magicJack)
MIDFIELDERS (12): Yael Averbuch (Western New York Flash), Brittany Bock (Western New York Flash), Shannon Boxx (magicJack), Becky Edwards (Western New York Flash), Tobin Heath (Sky Blue FC), Lori Lindsey (Philadelphia Independence), Carli Lloyd (Atlanta Beat), Kelley O’Hara (Boston Breakers), Heather O’Reilly (Sky Blue FC), Megan Rapinoe (magicJack), Ingrid Wells (Georgetown), Keelin Winters (Boston Breakers)
FORWARDS (5): Lauren Cheney (Boston Breakers), Sydney Leroux (UCLA), Alex Morgan (Western New York Flash), Amy Rodriguez (Philadelphia Independence), Abby Wambach (magicJack)


Your comments:

Powered by Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top