Home / US Soccer / Guatemala To Host 2012 FIFA Futsal World Cup Qualifying

Guatemala To Host 2012 FIFA Futsal World Cup Qualifying

CONCACAF Futsal Championships Will Take Place June 2-8 in Guatemala City;
Four Teams Advance to 2012 FIFA Futsal World Cup

© U.S. Soccer

U.S. Soccer

CHICAGO (Jan. 18, 2012) – Guatemala will host the 2012 CONCACAF Futsal Championships from June 2-8 at the Domo Polideportivo in Guatemala City.

For the first time in the qualifying tournament’s history, CONCACAF will send four teams to the Futsal World Cup in Thailand, being held from Nov. 2-18, 2012.

The United States and host Guatemala have already qualified for the tournament, along with Cuba, Costa Rica, Mexico and Panama.

The U.S. Futsal National Team has won the CONCACAF championship twice, in 1996 and 2004. In 2008, the USA reached the Futsal World Cup but failed to advance out of the group stage. Head coach Keith Tozer will continue to hold identification camps until this year’s qualifying tournament begins.

The Caribbean Football Union will send one country from a six-team qualifying tournament to be held from Feb. 17-23 in Havana, Cuba. Along with host Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guyana, Haiti, St. Kitts Nevis and Trinidad Tobago will compete for a qualification berth. Canada and El Salvador will battle in a two-game playoff series later this year for the final spot in CONCACAF qualifying.

Guatemala has hosted two previous CONCACAF Futsal Championships, including in 2008, when the country won its first championship crown. 

Related Topics


Your comments:

Powered by Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top