Home / US Soccer / U.S. Futsal National Team Convenes for May Training Camp

U.S. Futsal National Team Convenes for May Training Camp

U.S. Futsal National Team head coach Keith Tozer named a 22-player roster for a camp from May 6-11 in Torrance, Calif., in preparation for the 2012 CONCACAF Futsal Championship in July.

© U.S. Soccer

Squad Begins Preparations for CONCACAF Futsal Championship in July

CHICAGO (May 6, 2012) – U.S. Futsal National Team head coach Keith Tozer named a 22-player roster for a camp from May 6-11 in Torrance, Calif. The team is preparing for the 2012 CONCACAF Futsal Championship, which runs July 2-8 at the Domo Polideportivo in Gautemala City, Guatemala.

The camp includes 14 players who played during the 2011-12 Major Indoor Soccer League season, including Matthew Stewart, who won the MISL Championship with Tozer’s Milwaukee Wave. Stewart, midfielder Ptah Myers and defender Sandre “Sunny” Naumoski represented the U.S. at the 2008 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The roster also features a couple of players who took home professional indoor most valuable player honors in recent years. Forward Byron Alvarez was the 2010-11 MISL MVP and goalkeeper Danny Waltman was the MVP of the former Xtreme Soccer League in 2008-09.

Midfielder Lucas Stauffer competes within the U.S. Soccer Development Academy for the Shattuck-St. Mary’s Soccer Academy U-15/16 team. Stauffer played for the U.S. Futsal National Team in October of 2011 at the Futsal Grand Prix in Manaus, Brazil, scoring his first goal during the squad’s 10-7 loss against Belgium on Oct. 18.

The USA was drawn into Group A of the 2012 CONCACAF Futsal Championship. The team faces Panama at 8 p.m. ET on July 2, then either Canada or El Salvador at 8 p.m. on July 3, before meeting host Guatemala at 10 p.m. ET on July 4.

The semifinals take place July 6, with the Group B winner facing the Group A runner-up at 8 p.m. ET and the Group A winner taking on the Group B runner-up at 10 p.m. ET. The semifinal winners compete in the championship match at 8 p.m. ET on July 8. The semifinal losers will play in a third-place match scheduled for 4 p.m. ET that same day, though all four teams in the semifinals will advance to the 2012 FIFA Futsal World Cup.

To determine the last Group A qualifier, Canada and El Salvador will meet in a two-leg playoff on June 28 and 29 at the Domo Polideportivo. Group B consists of Cuba, Mexico, Costa Rica and St. Kitts Nevis.

Roster By Position:
GOALKEEPERS (3): Ryan Oster (Torrance, Calif.), Boris Pardo (Kansas City, Mo.), Daniel Waltman (Gig Harbor, Wash.)
DEFENDERS (5): Patrick Healey (Nottingham, Md.), Kevin Ten Eyck (Wichita, Kan.), Ptah Myers (Philadelphia, Pa.), Sandre Naumoski (Eastampton, N.J.), Nelson Santana (Santa Clara, Calif.)
MIDFIELDERS (10): Ryan Angell (Redwood City, Calif.), Kraig Chiles (San Diego, Calif.), Jeff Hughes (Independence, Ky.), Jaime Jaimes (Compton, Calif.), Benjamin Nieves (Bellflower, Calif.) Bryan Perez (Miami, Fla.) Angel Rivillo (Bala Cynwyd, Pa.), Alex Robles (Lynwood, Calif.), Lucas Stauffer (Faribault, Minn.), Matthew Stewart (Chicago, Ill.)
FORWARDS (4): Byron Alvarez (Kansas City, Mo.), Ljubomir Kocic (Metairie, La.), Machel Millwood (Laurel, Md.), Enrique Tovar (San Jose, Calif.)

Related Topics


Your comments:

Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

218,498 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Scroll To Top
Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE