Home / News / National Soccer Hall of Fame: Class of 2013 Candidates Finalized, Balloting Begins Today

National Soccer Hall of Fame: Class of 2013 Candidates Finalized, Balloting Begins Today

Voting Begins Today for Player, Veteran Player and Builder Categories; Five Players Eligible on First Ballot, Including U.S. WNT Two-Time Gold Medalist Angela Hucles

CHICAGO (Jan. 25, 2013) – Ballots have been finalized for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2013 elections, and voting will begin immediately for
the Player, Veteran Player and Builder categories. Voting will continue through Feb. 22, and the election results will be announced shortly after. The
Class of 2013 induction ceremony details will be announced at a later date.

Players in their first year of eligibility include two-time MLS champion midfielder Wade Barrett, two-time WNT Olympic gold medalist Angela Hucles, former
MLS Rookie of the Year and MNT veteran Ben Olsen, 2002 MNT World Cup defender Tony Sanneh and 2005 MLS MVP and former Men’s National Team forward Taylor

“We are excited to begin the process of selecting the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2013 later this year,” said Hank Steinbrecher, Chairman of the
Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors. “The Hall of Fame is the most prestigious honor among the Player, Veteran and Builder candidates who dedicated
themselves to the sport. As usual there is a great mix of returning candidates and new names who are worthy of this award.”

Of the 22 total players on the Player ballot, Mauricio Cienfuegos, Roy Lassiter and Tisha Venturini-Hoch are in their final year of eligibility.

In order to be eligible for election as a Player, an individual must be retired as a player for at least three years, but for no more than 10 years and
have either: 1) Played in at least 20 international games for the U.S., or 2) Played at least five seasons in an American first division professional
league and named to a postseason All-League or All-Star team at least once.

The voting pool includes all past and present full Men’s and Women’s National Team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four
years of experience as a head coach in a first division league, MLS and NWSL management representatives, MLS Commissioner, NWSL Executive Director, U.S.
Soccer CEO/Secretary General, U.S. Soccer President, designated media members, and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can list up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does
not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be dropped from the Player ballot.

2013 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot
Chris Armas
Wade Barrett *
Mauricio Cienfuegos^
Raul Diaz Arce
Marco Etcheverry
Lorrie Fair
Robin Fraser
Chris Henderson
Angela Hucles *
Jason Kreis
Roy Lassiter^
Shannon MacMillan
Joe-Max Moore
Victor Nogueira
John O’Brien
Ben Olsen *
Cindy Parlow
Ante Razov
Tiffany Roberts
Tony Sanneh *
Taylor Twellman *
Tisha Venturini-Hoch^

Source Article from http://www.ussoccer.com/News/Federation-Services/2013/01/National-Soccer-Hall-of-Fame-Class-of-2013-Candidates-Finalized.aspx
National Soccer Hall of Fame: Class of 2013 Candidates Finalized, Balloting Begins Today
U.S. Soccer: Latest Headlines

Your comments:

Powered by Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top