Home / News / Chicago Red Stars Allowed to Add Five Players before Jan. 31

Chicago Red Stars Allowed to Add Five Players before Jan. 31

Red Stars Given Additional Option during Open Signing Period Due to Amy LePeilbet Injury

© Michael Janosz/isiphotos.com

Amy LePeilbet

IN THE IMAGE: Amy LePeilbet will is currently out with injury.

CHICAGO (Jan. 26, 2013) – The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) has provided the Chicago Red Stars with the ability to sign an additional player during the open signing period that ends Jan. 31 due to an injury to Amy LePeilbet. With the addition, the Red Stars will now be able to sign up to five players.

The U.S. Women’s National Team defender was allocated to the Red Stars, but further evaluation of her left knee revealed the need for surgery on the anterior cruciate ligament and she will be out of action from six to eight months.

Last week, the NWSL announced that all eight clubs would be allowed to sign up to four additional players during a period running until Jan. 31 to continue to build their rosters. The Western New York Flash are also allowed to sign up to five players during this period since they were provided only two U.S. players during the National Team player allocation.

During this period, each club is free to negotiate with American or international players, with a limit of only two international players in addition to the already allocated Canada and Mexico National Team players.

Following this signing period, there will be several other mechanisms for teams to stock their rosters. Each team will be allowed 20 players on their roster for the inaugural season starting in the spring of 2013.

A NWSL Supplemental Draft will follow this signing period with details to be released in the near future.

Each of the teams was allocated three U.S. Women’s National Team players and two Canada and Mexico National Team players on Jan. 9 (with the exception of the Western NY Flash, which received two U.S. players). Each of the clubs then added four players at the 2013 NWSL College Draft in Indianapolis on Jan. 18.

The NWSL is an eight-team league organized and administered by the U.S. Soccer Federation that will begin play in the spring of 2013. U.S. Soccer is subsidizing the salaries of the 23 American players, while the Canadian Soccer Association and the Federation of Mexican Football will each do the same for 16 players. The eight founding clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, FC Kansas City, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC (New York/New Jersey), the Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash.

Source Article from http://www.ussoccer.com/News/NWSL/2013/01/NWSL-Gives-Chicago-Ability-to-Sign-Five-Players.aspx
Chicago Red Stars Allowed to Add Five Players before Jan. 31
U.S. Soccer: Latest Headlines

Your comments:

Powered by Facebook Comments

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top